Definitions Of The Types Of Training Available

New Entrant training and the Modern Apprenticeship Scheme

The aim of the industry is to recruit and train young people into the roofing industry and provide them with the foundation for an exciting, rewarding and successful career.

All college courses are based on a programme combining site work spent with a roofing company, training at the college and ongoing assessment. Apprenticeships allow young employees to learn, work and get qualified at the same time. It’s a simple, step-by-step process with colleges offering guidance to both apprentices and employers throughout.

The training programmes currently offered for the roofing industry are built-up felt roofing, roof sheeting and cladding, roof slating and tiling, roof tiling for new house building, and mastic asphalt.

All courses provide the practical and theoretical knowledge required to achieve the relevant qualifications. Apprentices also obtain a safe working knowledge and the practical appreciation of the skills and techniques to enable them to become valuable members of the workforce.

All programmes lead to a qualification in Functional Skills Level 1, Abrasive Wheels (CITB-ConstructionSkills), Mobile Towers (CITB-ConstructionSkills), First Aid Certificate, Health and Safety test, Safe use of ladders and Manual Handling.

The built-up felt roofing programme also offers the N/SVQ Level 2 in applied waterproof membranes (built-up felt roofing) and an apprenticeship framework.

The roof sheeting and cladding programme also offers the N/SVQ Level 2 in roof sheeting and cladding, the apprenticeship framework, telescopic boom (IPAF) and scissors lift (IPAF).The roof slating and tiling programme also offers the N/SVQ Level 2 in roof slating and roof tiling, the intermediate construction award in roof slating and roof tiling and apprenticeship framework.

On-site assessment and training (OSAT)

On-site assessment and training (OSAT) is a cost-effective method of qualifying experienced roofing staff to industry’s national occupational standards. OSAT enables experienced, but not formally qualified, roofing staff to prove they are competent, safe and qualified to work on construction sites.

Available through Colleges, Regional Roofing Training Groups, Manufacturers, Contractors, National Construction College courses and mobile rigs.

Experienced Worker Practical Assessed Route (EWPAR)

This assessment route has been introduced as an alternative for the experienced worker with a minimum of five years’ experience in the occupation, which is considered sufficient time to gain experience across the range of work. Accredited assessment centres are able to use this method to assess experienced candidates. This method is not being introduced to replace existing assessment methods, but to offer an alternative. Currently the EWPAR route is available for Sheeting and Cladding, Rainscreens, Slating and Tiling.

The Specialist Apprenticeship Programme (SAP)

SAP was developed as a result of the lack of availability of traditional college based Modern Roofing Apprenticeships for a range of specialist roofing occupational sectors The National Specialist Team of CSkills (NSAC) has worked with the roofing NFRC, SPRA, LRWA and LSA to develop and introduce specialist apprenticeship programmes which meet the requirements of employers within these sectors. Duration of training may very up to a maximum of two years with a total of apprximately 5 weeks off the job training.

Currently, there are Level 2 & 3 SAPs in Pitched Roofing, Single Ply Roofing, Liquid Roofing, Heritage Roof Slating and Tiling, Lead and Hard Metal.

The Specialist Upskilling Programme (SUP)

SUP gives a roofing worker who has no formal skill but some basic site experience, the opportunity to learn a formal skill through a combination of course attendance and/or on-site training and experience. The duration of training may vary up to a maximum of 12 months, at the end of which the operative, if successful, could attain an N/SVQ Level 2 and qualify for a Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) card (see Section 5).

This is a CITB product / qualification which is delivered through approved CITB training providers.

National and Scottish Vocational Qualifications (N/SVQs)

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) or in Scotland, Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs), are work-based qualifications designed to prove that the standard of work required has been met.

There are five different levels of NVQ/SVQ:

  • Level 1 is foundation level.
  • Level 2 is for skilled operatives.
  • Level 3 is for skilled craftsmen or supervisors.
  • Levels 4 and 5 are generally for the industry managers and professionals who may have already attained one or more professional qualifications.

A qualification is made up of individual units. When all the units are achieved as required, the N/SVQ is awarded. N/SVQs are designed to show that an acceptable level of competence has been reached to enable work to be carried out correctly and safely.